The Boo Radleys have shared details of their upcoming eighth album – aptly titled ‘Eight’ – along with its lead single, ‘Seeker’, as well as information on a ‘Giant Steps’ reissue and 2023 UK and Ireland tour.

According to bassist Tim Brown, the new song went through quite a journey in the songwriting process, starting out as “a three-chord synthpop tune” that “mutated into a brassy bop courtesy of trumpeter Nick Etwell”.

On how it blossomed from there, he continued: “This song started as a three-chord synth-pop tune and mutated into a brassy bop thanks to trumpeter Nick Etwell. The electric guitar flourishes were added by Louis Smith before [frontman Simon ‘Sice’ Rowbottom] added layer of background vocals that help propel the song forward and bring it to its happy ending.”

Watch the accompanying music video for ‘Seeker’ below:

‘Eight’ will be released on 9 June via the band’s own Boostr label. According to Sice, it marked a drastic shift from the loose, free-flowing concepts of their seventh album, ‘Keep On With Falling’ – which arrived last March as The Boo Radleys’ first long-form effort in 24 years – with each song on the new album written “with purpose of performing together on an album”.

The singer and guitarist further explained: “There’s also a greater depth of integration, which means it’s harder to tell which member of the band the song originated from.”

Take a look at the cover art and tracklist for ‘Eight’ below and find pre-orders for the record here.

1. ‘Seeking’
2. ‘The unconscious’
3. ‘Hollow’
4. ‘Skeleton Woman’
5. ‘Grief (I Just Want To Be Free)’
6. ‘Sometimes I sleep’
7. ‘Swift’s Requiem’
8. ‘The way I am’
9. ‘A Shadow Darker Than The Rest’
10. ‘Wash That Feeling’
11. ‘When I find it difficult’
12. ‘Now that’s what I call obscene’
13. ‘How Should I Know’

As for the aforementioned ‘Giant Steps’ reissue, The Boo Radleys have yet to confirm a release date (or whether it will include any bonus material), but have assured fans that new vinyl, CD and digital editions will arrive before the end of the year end. It comes to celebrate the classic album’s 20th anniversary, first hitting shelves in August 1993. It was the band’s third album and spawned beloved cuts such as ‘Lazarus’ and ‘Barney (…And Me)’.

In June, The Boo Radleys will perform ‘Giant Steps’ in full – marking the first time some of their tracks will be played live – on a seven-date tour of England, Ireland and Scotland. Kicking off with four consecutive dates in the premier country, they’ll hit the stages in Reading, London, Tunbridge Wells and Birkenhead on the 13th-16th. June. From there they head to Dublin and Belfast before finishing in Glasgow on Sunday 25 June.

Tickets for all seven shows are on sale now – find them here for the dates in London, Dublin and Belfast, and here for those in the other four cities.

The Boo Radleys’ 2023 UK & Ireland tour dates are:

Tuesday 13 – Reading, South Street Arts Centre
Wednesday 14 – London, The Garage
Thursday 15 – Tunbridge Wells, The Forum
Friday 16 Birkenhead, Future Yard
Thursday 22 – Dublin, The Grand Social
Friday the 23rd. – Belfast, The Limelight
Sunday 25. Glasgow, hugs and pints

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *