To unlock the ability to craft the iron ax in Island Sanctuary, Final Fantasy XIV: Endwalker players must reach a certain level.

Islekeep’s Iron Hatchet is a new tool in Island Sanctuary for Final Fantasy XIV which Farmers of Light can use to harvest new resources from trees, such as Island Resin, Island Coconuts or Island Beehive Chips. This Hatchet acts as an upgrade from the stone and bronze tools that players previously used prior to Patch 6.3. With the new materials obtainable with the Iron Hatchet, players can continue to develop their island paradise and create new recipes for their Home Sweet Hideaway. However, a prerequisite must be met before players receive Hatchet’s crafting recipe from Felicitous Furball.


To unlock Islekeep’s Iron Hatchet in Island Sanctuary of Final Fantasy XIV, players must reach rank 10 and have made all the previous tools before this upgrade. It takes time to level one’s island, so newcomers to Island Sanctuary should not expect to unlock their Iron Hatchet for days or weeks.

Completing daily and weekly tasks, crafting items for targets and managing one’s livestock will ensure that players gradually reach their target of rank 10. Players should always remember to expand and upgrade their farm before moving on to cosmetic purchases.

Related: FFXIV: How to Unlock the Felicitous Furball Umbrella

Unlocking and Crafting the Iron Ax in FFXIV

Recipe for making Islekeep's Iron Ax in FFXIV

Once Final Fantasy XIV fans have reached level 10, they can receive Islekeep’s Iron Hatchet recipe from Felicitous Furball at the coordinates (X:12.6, Y: 28.4) on Island Sanctuary. According to the YouTuber Funny fan players, players need Island Log × 3, Island Iron Ore × 2, and Island Quartz × 3 to craft the Hatchet. By the time players reach level 10 on their FFXIV island, they will likely have all three of these resources readily available in their inventories. However, it is possible that some are missing one or two of the materials.

In that case, Final Fantasy XIV players at Game clock has stated that Island Logs can be harvested from trees at (X: 20, Y: 23), Island Iron Ore is mined from mineral nodes at (X: 26, Y: 20), and Island Quartz comes from nodes at (X: 22, Y: 16). Players are encouraged to have unlocked to fly on Island Sanctuary, as finding each of these locations on foot can be somewhat time-consuming. Once players have crafted the Iron Hatchet, they can harvest the following resources based on Gamepur scores:


Source of purchase


Island Beehive Chips

Island Wood Opal

Island coconuts

Multicolored Islebloom

More: How to get Earthbreak Aethersand in Final Fantasy XIV

Source: YouTube/Funny fan players | Game clock

  • Final Fantasy XIV Endwalker Poster

    Final Fantasy 14

    Original release date:

    Square Enix

    Final Fantasy

    Fantasy, MMORPG

    PlayStation 3, PlayStation 4, PlayStation 5, Microsoft Windows, macOS

    Square Enix


    Online Co-Op, Online Multiplayer

    Final Fantasy 14 (Final Fantasy XIV) is the fourteenth entry in the Final Fantasy series. It’s an MMORPG that originally launched in 2010 before being completely rebuilt from the ground up for a 2013 release as Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn. Following the events of the 2010 iteration’s conclusion, where the primordial dragon Bahamut brings disaster to the land of Eorza, the player survives and is sent into the future for five years in a world that has begun to rebuild, but now thrust into the middle of a Garlean war Empire. As a consistently expanding world with an ever-increasing story, Final Fantasy XIV’s narrative grows with each expansion, with the core experience still surrounding working with other players and NPCs as they level and customize their characters, engage in real-time events, and coordinate teams to enter massive dungeons to face raid bosses. The game is available to play with people from multiple nations and has a massive translatable vocabulary so players can work with each other despite language barriers. The latest expansion pack, Endwalker, was released in December 2021 and follows the trend of each title being released roughly every two years. Final Fantasy XIV is available as a free-to-play title up to level 60, at which point the game switches to a subscription model. The game can be played on Microsoft Windows, macOS, PlayStation 4 and PlayStation 5, as the PlayStation 3 version was shut down in 2017.

    Expansion Packs:
    Heavensward (June 2015), Stormblood (June 2017), Shadowbringers (July 2019), Endwalker (December 2021)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *