Melbourne singer-songwriter Dan Sultan has announced his fifth studio album, the self-titled ‘Dan Sultan’.

Sultan announced the upcoming record last week along with the release of a new single ‘Wait In Love’ and a live performance of the track. ‘Dan Sultan’ will be released on August 18 via Liberation Records. Pre-order ‘Dan Sultan’ here.

Find the album’s artwork and tracklist below.

Sultan said of the upcoming record: “I’m very proud of my record and I know I’ve made something beautiful that represents myself in every way. It’s fulfilled me and I’m happier and stronger in my work, than I’ve ever been. It’s a wonderful thing to feel so peaceful and powerful in my artistry, and it’s holistically permeated into every aspect of my life.”

Watch Dan Sultan’s live performance of his new single, ‘Wait In Love’, below.

Speaking about ‘Wait In Love’ via a press release, Sultan said: “Wait in Love was one of the first songs I wrote for my record and it helped set the benchmark and tone for the rest of the writing and the general approach from then on. . It’s one of my favorite songs and it feels like I’ve known it forever. It’s about when I decided to get sober and the circumstances surrounding it.”

“From the press coverage at the time to the love and support I received from my loved ones and especially my girlfriend at the time and now wife, Bron. It is a love song to ourselves and our beautiful future together. Our first child arrived almost a year later to the day. I love Wait in Love and I’m proud to have written it for us.”

‘Dan Sultan’ will also include the previously released singles ‘Story’ and ‘Won’t Give You That’. Other unreleased songs from the album include ‘Fortress’ featuring Julia Stone, ‘Chance To Lose Control’ and ‘Undreamt Shorts’.

Dan Sultan
The cover of ‘Dan Sultan’. Credit: Press

The track list for ‘Dan Sultan’ is:

1. ‘History’
2. ‘Won’t Give It To You’
3. ‘Wait in Love’
4. ‘Ringing In My Ears’
5. ‘Fortress’ (feat. Julia Stone)
6. ‘Chance To Lose Control’
7. ‘Get Up’
8. ‘Saint Nor Sinner’
9. ‘Undreamt Shores’
10. ‘Lashings’

Dan Sultan’s last original album came in the form of 2017’s ‘Killer’, which featured the songs ‘Cul-de-sac’, ‘Magnetic’ and ‘Fire Under Foot’. In March 2019, he released ‘Aviary Takes’, which saw Sultan record acoustic and piano versions of his most famous tracks from his four studio albums to date, as well as three cover versions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *